Skip to content
ClearTradeREPORT

Real reporting for the people who build, power and maintain America.

Drain Inspection Cameras: Reel Length, Sonde Frequency and Locating

Compare push camera systems by sonde frequency, locator match, pipe range, cable length, recording software and warranty, using maker specs.

By ClearTrade Report Editorial Team · Published November 4, 2026 · 11 min read

Four-step checklist for comparing drain inspection cameras: pipe range and cable length, sonde frequency, locator match, and recording and service terms.
Credit: ClearTrade Report Editorial Team.

To compare professional push-camera systems, put five numbers side by side: the sonde frequency (and whether your locator can receive it), the recommended pipe diameter range, the camera head diameter, the push cable length, and the push cable diameter. Then check how the system records and shares inspections, and what the warranty actually says. Some product pages leave these values out, so read the operator’s manual or spec sheet; the sonde frequency matters most if you already own a locator, because a camera you cannot locate gives you a picture of a defect without a place to dig.

Evidence label: Documentation-based guide. ClearTrade Report Editorial Team checked camera and locator manufacturer product pages, operator’s manuals, locator technical specifications, a manufacturer press release and a software support page on November 4, 2026. No hands-on testing, site visit or outside professional review was performed. Products and organizations named below are documentation examples, not recommendations. This guide contains no affiliate links.

This guide covers choosing the equipment. If you already have footage and want to understand what a contractor’s findings mean, see our guide to reviewing a sewer camera inspection report.

Sonde frequency: match the camera to the locator

A sonde is a small transmitter, usually built into the spring behind the camera head, that lets a walk-over locator find the head from the surface. The locator has to be listening on the same frequency the sonde transmits. If the two do not share a frequency, you can see the problem on screen but cannot mark where it is.

Most push cameras in this guide use 512 Hz. RIDGID’s SeeSnake Standard operator’s manual (999-995-543.01 REV 2, printed 2025/6/30) lists the sonde “Frequency 512 Hz,” and RIDGID’s Standard DSL product page says “A built-in 512Hz Powerful FleXmitter® sonde preserves the flexibility to clear tight runs.” General Pipe Cleaners’ Gen-Eye Prism 2.0 operating instructions (C-GEPR2.0OI-0816) state: “The camera assembly includes a 512 Hz transmitter, located safely in the spring behind the camera head,” and tell the user to “Set Locator to 512Hz by pressing FREQ button until 512 Hz appears on display.”

Some systems transmit on more than one frequency. Milwaukee’s page for the M18 120′ Mid-Stiff Pipeline Inspection System (2973-22) lists “Sonde Frequency: 512Hz, 33 KHz.” Milwaukee’s press release for the 200′ Mid-Stiff (2975-22) and 325′ Stiff (2976-22) kits, which include the 2975-20 and 2976-20 reels, lists “Sonde Frequency: 512Hz, 640Hz, 33kHz.” Milwaukee’s page for the 200′ system (2974-22), as listed on Milwaukee’s page checked November 4, 2026, did not state a sonde frequency in its specifications, so confirm it before you pair that reel with a locator.

Now check the locator side. RIDGID’s SeekTech SR-20 / SR-24 LE brochure lists the default sonde mode as “512 Hz” and preprogrammed sonde frequencies of “16 Hz; 640 Hz; 850 Hz; 8 kHz; 16 kHz; 33 kHz,” and says to “Use with a SeeSnake camera equipped with a sonde transmitter to locate the camera head during an inspection.” The Radiodetection RD8200 locator specification (90/RD8200-TS-ENG/06) lists sonde frequencies of “512Hz, 640Hz, 8kHz and 33kHz.” General Pipe Cleaners’ Hot-Spot locator page lists “Camera/Sonde Frequencies: 512 Hz and 33KHz.” Each of these covers 512 Hz, but not every one covers 640 Hz. If you plan to use a camera’s 640 Hz or 33 kHz output, make sure your locator lists that exact frequency.

Depth is a separate limit. The Gen-Eye Hot-Spot page gives “Depth Range: 10 ft. in cast iron pipe/20 ft. in clay or plastic,” and the Gen-Eye Sondes page gives the Sonde 10 a range of “Up to 10 ft. though cast iron or 15 ft. though clay or plastic lines.” Pipe material changes how far the signal reaches, so read the depth figure for the pipe you expect to inspect.

Pipe diameter range, camera head size and bends

A camera’s stated pipe range is the manufacturer’s recommended working range, not just the smallest pipe the head will physically enter. In general, the lower number reflects whether the camera head and spring can pass traps and fittings, and the upper number reflects whether the cable is stiff enough to push and the lights can show the pipe wall.

The ranges differ a lot between reels. RIDGID’s Standard manual says “The Standard reel is ideal for inspecting 51 mm to 305 mm (2 in to 12 in) lines” and lists a camera head “Diameter 35 mm (1.4 in).” Milwaukee lists the 2973-22 at “Line Capacity: 2″-6″” with a “25 mm self-leveling HD camera head,” and the 2974-22 at “3”-10” sewer lines” with a 34 mm head. The Gen-Eye Prism 2.0 manual lists the standard reel for “3” to 10” (75 to 250mm)” and the mini reel for “1-1/2” to 4” (38 to 100mm).”

Few of the pages we checked give a number for bends. RIDGID’s Standard manual is an exception: it lists “Minimum bend radius 114 mm (4.5 in).” If your work is mostly small-diameter lines with tight traps and fittings, look for a published bend radius or a stated minimum pipe size, and ask the maker which fittings the head is rated to pass. A larger head will have a harder time in small, tight lines.

Reel cable length and push cable stiffness

Cable length sets how far you can reach from the access point. Check whether the figure is the push cable length or the product name. RIDGID’s Standard manual gives push cable lengths of “61 m (200 ft)” and “99 m (325 ft).” Milwaukee’s 2973-22 page says the system works in “sewer lines up to 120’,” and the 2974-22 page says “up to 200’.” The Gen-Eye Prism 2.0 manual offers the standard reel in “200, 300, or 400 ft.” and the mini reel in “100 or 200 ft.”

Cable diameter tells you about stiffness. A thicker push cable carries the camera farther in larger pipe, and a thinner one flexes through tighter bends. Milwaukee states this tradeoff for the 2973-22: “10mm Push Cable Diameter provides best mix of stiffness and flexibility.” The 2974-22 uses a “12 mm Push Cable Diameter,” and RIDGID’s Standard manual lists the push cable at “Diameter 11.2 mm (0.44 in).” Milwaukee also labels its reels “Mid-Stiff” or “Stiff” in the product name. Compare cable diameter together with the stated pipe range, since length alone does not tell you whether the cable can be pushed that far in a given size of pipe.

Self-leveling, recording and report software

A self-leveling camera keeps the picture upright as the cable twists, so the bottom of the pipe stays at the bottom of the screen. That makes it easier to judge sags, standing water and offsets. RIDGID’s Standard manual describes a “digital self-leveling camera head to keep the camera’s image level as it moves through the pipe,” and the Standard DSL page says it “keeps image upright with no moving mechanical parts.” The Gen-Eye Prism 2.0 manual says “The self-leveling color camera automatically keeps the picture right side up.” Milwaukee lists self-leveling heads on the 2973-22 and 2974-22.

Recording and reporting are often split between the reel, a monitor or hub, and software. Check which piece records, where files are stored, and how they reach the customer.

  • RIDGID’s Standard manual says the reel “is backwards compatible with any SeeSnake monitor to record and distribute inspections.” RIDGID’s SeeSnake HQ support page describes HQ as “a free software tool that helps you collect digital pipe inspection content,” says it can “organize and edit jobs, store customer information,” and says “HQ offers multiple ways to distribute reports.” It also states “HQ can be installed on PCs running Windows 7 or later,” though the same page’s system requirements list Windows 8 through 11, so confirm OS support before installing. It also states “HQ is not compatible with any PC or Surface Pro that uses an ARM processor.”
  • Milwaukee’s system pages say users can “Capture, create, and share custom photos and videos from the M18™ Wireless Monitor,” and that the M18 500GB Control Hub “stores recordings.” Milwaukee’s press release lists “Internal Storage: 500GB SSD.” We did not find a named report-writing tool on the Milwaukee pages we checked.
  • The Gen-Eye Prism 2.0 manual says “A free App lets you easily view and record video inspections at a range of up to 500 feet,” and describes an on-screen text titler. The manual does not describe a built-in recorder; apart from the app, it refers users to their own recorder or monitor owner’s manual.

If customers or insurers expect a written report, ask for a sample report file from the software you would use, and check that it can show footage distance and locate marks.

Warranty terms were the hardest item to confirm. Neither Milwaukee pipeline system page we checked states warranty terms on the page, and Milwaukee’s general registration and warranty page we read did not contain terms specific to pipeline inspection products. RIDGID’s Standard DSL page links to a page labeled “Full Lifetime Warranty” but does not state the terms on the product page. The Gen-Eye Prism 2.0 manual gives no warranty period. Radiodetection’s RD8200 specification is the clearest: “3 years standard, on registration.” Get the written warranty for each component (reel, camera head, monitor or hub, locator) and ask how repairs are handled.

Spec sheet checklist and model comparison

Use this table when you compare spec sheets. It lists what to look for and why, not a pass or fail standard.

SpecWhy it mattersWhat to confirm on the spec sheet
Sonde frequencyYour locator must receive it to mark the camera head positionExact frequency or frequencies, and that your locator lists the same value
Locator depth rangeDeep or cast iron lines can exceed the usable signal rangeDepth by pipe material, for the sonde and locator pair
Recommended pipe rangeSets the jobs the reel is meant forBoth minimum and maximum diameter, in the manual for that reel
Camera head diameterAffects passage through traps and small fittingsHead diameter and length; any published minimum bend radius
Push cable lengthSets reach from the access pointPush cable length, not only the product name
Push cable diameter or stiffnessAffects how far the cable can be pushed and how it handles bendsDiameter in mm and any stiffness rating
Self-levelingKeeps the image upright for judging sags and waterWhether leveling is digital or mechanical
Recording and storageDetermines where footage is saved and how it is sharedWhich unit records, storage capacity, export method
Report softwareCustomers may expect a written reportSoftware name, operating system support, report formats
Warranty and serviceCamera heads and cables are wear itemsWritten terms per component, registration requirements, repair process

The comparison below uses only values we read on each maker’s page or manual on November 4, 2026. “Not stated” means we did not find the value in that source, not that the product lacks it.

Model (source)Cable lengthPipe rangeCamera headSonde frequencyPush cable diameter
RIDGID SeeSnake Standard (operator’s manual)61 m (200 ft); 99 m (325 ft)51 mm to 305 mm (2 in to 12 in)Diameter 35 mm (1.4 in)512 Hz11.2 mm (0.44 in)
Milwaukee 2973-22 (product page)up to 120’2″-6″25 mm512Hz, 33 KHz10mm
Milwaukee 2974-22 (product page)up to 200’3″-10”34 mmNot stated12 mm
Milwaukee 2976-22 kit / 2976-20 reel (press release)325′ (product name)3”-10”34mm512Hz, 640Hz, 33kHz12mm
Gen-Eye Prism 2.0 standard reel (manual)200, 300, or 400 ft.3” to 10” (75 to 250mm)Not stated512 HzNot stated
Gen-Eye Prism 2.0 mini reel (manual)100 or 200 ft.1-1/2” to 4” (38 to 100mm)Not stated512 HzNot stated

Know the limits of this guide

Evidence label: documentation-based guide. ClearTrade Report Editorial Team checked the sources below on November 4, 2026. We did not operate, test or compare any camera, reel or locator. Some RIDGID product pages did not load for us, so RIDGID values come from the Standard manual and Standard DSL page. The Gen-Eye Prism 2.0 manual is dated 2016 by its document code, so confirm current reel options with General Pipe Cleaners. We did not find stated sonde frequencies for every model or written warranty terms for every component. Prices are not covered. Confirm current specifications and warranty terms with the manufacturer or an authorized dealer before you buy.

Primary references checked November 4, 2026: RIDGID, SeeSnake Standard Operator’s Manual (999-995-543.01 REV 2, printed 2025/6/30); RIDGID, “SeeSnake Standard DSL Inspection Camera with TruSense Technology” product page; RIDGID, SeekTech SR-20 / SR-24 LE Line Locators brochure (FY20 71TA_EN, © 2023); RIDGID SeeSnake support, “HQ for PCs”; Milwaukee Tool, “M18™ 120’ Mid-Stiff Pipeline Inspection System” (2973-22) product page; Milwaukee Tool, “M18™ 200’ Stiff Pipeline Inspection System” (2974-22) product page; Milwaukee Tool, “Milwaukee Rounds Out Pipeline Inspection Tool Offering” press release (no date shown); Milwaukee Tool, “Registration and Warranty” page; General Pipe Cleaners, Gen-Eye Prism 2.0 Operating Instructions (C-GEPR2.0OI-0816); General Pipe Cleaners, “Gen-Eye Sondes” page; General Pipe Cleaners, “Gen-Eye Hot-Spot Pipe Locator” page; Radiodetection, RD8200 locator specification (90/RD8200-TS-ENG/06, © 2023); Radiodetection, “Standard Sonde” page.

Frequently asked questions

Will my locator find any brand of sewer camera sonde?

Only if the locator can receive the sonde’s frequency. Many push cameras transmit at 512 Hz, and the RIDGID, Radiodetection and Gen-Eye locator documents we checked all list 512 Hz. Some cameras also transmit at 640 Hz or 33 kHz, and not every locator lists both (the Gen-Eye Hot-Spot page lists 512 Hz and 33 kHz but not 640 Hz), so compare the exact frequencies on both spec sheets.

Is a longer push cable always better?

No. Length sets how far you can reach, but cable diameter and stiffness decide whether you can push the camera that far in a given pipe size. A stiffer cable suits larger lines; a thinner one handles tight bends. Compare length, cable diameter and the recommended pipe range together.

What does the pipe range on a camera spec sheet mean?

It is the manufacturer’s recommended working range for that reel, such as 2 in to 12 in for the RIDGID SeeSnake Standard in its operator’s manual. Generally, the small end reflects whether the camera head can pass traps and fittings, and the large end reflects cable stiffness and lighting. Check the minimum bend radius where the maker publishes one.

Do push camera systems include report software?

It varies. RIDGID offers free SeeSnake HQ software for Windows PCs that creates and distributes reports. Milwaukee’s pages describe capturing and sharing photos and videos and a 500GB control hub for storage. The Gen-Eye Prism 2.0 manual describes a free app to view and record inspections. Ask for a sample report before you buy.

Disclaimer: This guide is general information based on manufacturer documentation, not professional plumbing, engineering or purchasing advice for a specific job. Follow the manufacturer’s instructions for each camera, reel and locator, and the code adopted where you are. AI tools assisted with drafting. ClearTrade Report Editorial Team checked the cited sources and edited this guide. No hands-on testing was performed.

Need a qualified professional?

Trusted Pros uses visible license-verification states and never ranks paid listings above unpaid listings.

Explore Trusted Pros